martedì 28 novembre 2017

Last Chance to Nominate your Champions for Sailing's Top Awards

Nominate Champion Sailors in Your Community for
2017 Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year

Nomination Period Closes Thursday, November 30
Make Your Nominations Today!
Your nominee could be a finalist!
Make sure he or she gets the recognition they deserve.

We all know those unique and talented sailors in our communities who have turned in outstanding performances over 2017. Perhaps he or she notched a signature win at a regatta hosted by your local yacht club or maybe a member sailor from your organization won a class National, North American or World Championship.

Make sure these sailors get the recognition they deserve by submitting nominations for US Sailing’s 2017 Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year Awards. If you have already submitted your nominations, thank you for your participation.

Nominations can be made online atrolex.ussailing.orgthrough November 30, 2017.

Each member of US Sailing may nominate the one male and one female sailor they believe has turned in the most outstanding on-the-water performance during the 2017 calendar year.

Keep in mind, it isn’t all about winning the award. A collection of nominees will be selected to the shortlist and will be announced as finalists for this annual distinction. This recognition is a tremendous opportunity for your local sailing community, yacht club or sailing organization, and one-design class association or fleet.

Established in 1961 by US Sailing and sponsored by Rolex Watch, U.S.A. since 1980, the annual presentation of US Sailing’s Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year awards recognize the individual male and female U.S. sailor who has demonstrated on-the-water excellence at international and/or national events to earn their place in the history of the sport.

Awards Criteria:

  • Must be a citizen of the United States, eligible to represent the USA under World Sailing regulations, and actually representing the USA at the event(s) for which the nominee is being considered for the award.
  • Awards recognize the individual male and female U.S. sailor who has demonstrated on-the-water excellence in the calendar year. In the past, there have been outstanding situations resulting in a skipper and crew nomination being accepted.
  • Must have won a major international or national event and/or performed at a high level with consistently in multiple events against elite competition.
  • There is no minimum age required to win the award.
  • The awards are not based on career racing results (lifetime achievement) or contributions to the sport outside of racing.
The 2017 winners will be announced in January and the shortlist will be announced in December. Make your nominations today

Nessun commento: